Catalog Search

Library Hours & Location

Exterior of library

Mountain View Public Library

585 Franklin Street
Mountain View, CA 94041
650-903-6887



Hours of operation

Monday-Thursday 10 a.m.-9 p.m.
Friday-Saturday 10 a.m.-6 p.m.
Sunday 1-5 p.m.

Library Holidays & Closures 2020-2021

Holiday Days Closed
New Year's Day 2021  Thursday, December 31, 2020; Friday, January 1, 2021; and Saturday, January 2, 2021
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day  Monday, January 18
Presidents Day  Monday, February 15
Easter Sunday  Sunday, April 4
Memorial Day Monday, May 31 
Independence Day Sunday, July 4 and Monday, July 5 
Labor Day Monday, September 6
Veterans Day Thursday, November 11
Thanksgiving Thursday, November 25 and Friday, November 26 
Christmas 2021 Thursday, December 23; Friday, December 24; Saturday, December 25 and Sunday, December 26

Note: The Library will be open 10 a.m.-6 p.m. from Monday, December 27 to Thursday, December 30.
New Year's 2022  Friday, December 31, 2021; Saturday, January 1, 2022 and Sunday, January 2, 2022

Return to the top


Directions to the Library

From 85 North

  • Take El Camino Real North exit
  • Follow El Camino Real until you reach Castro Street
  • Right turn on Castro Street
  • Left on Mercy Street
  • The Library is on Franklin Street, between Mercy and Church Streets

From 101 North

  • Take the Shoreline Boulevard exit
  • Right on Shoreline Blvd.
  • Left on California Street
  • Right on Franklin Street
  • The Library is on Franklin Street, between Mercy and Church Streets

From 101 South

  • Take the Shoreline Boulevard exit
  • Right turn on Shoreline Blvd (which will lead you back over 101)
  • Left turn on California Street
  • Right turn on Franklin Street
  • The Library is on Franklin Street, between Mercy and Church Streets

From 237

  • 237 becomes Grant Road when it intersects with El Camino Real
  • Right turn at El Camino Real
  • Right on Castro Street
  • Left on Mercy Street
  • The Library is on Franklin Street, between Mercy and Church Streets

From 280

  • Take 85 North exit
  • Take the El Camino Real North exit
  • Right turn on Castro Street
  • Left turn on Mercy Street
  • The Library is on Franklin Street, between Mercy and Church Streets

Return to the top

Public Transportation

Plan your Trip with 511.org

Nearby VTA Bus Stops

  • Castro St. & Mercy St.: VTA 51, VTA 52, and Mountain View Community Shuttle
  • Villa St. & Franklin St.: VTA 40
  • California St. & Bryant St.: VTA 21
  • El Camino & Castro St.: VTA 22 and VTA 522
VTA Light Rail: Orange Line (Mountain View - Alum Rock)
Caltrain Mountain View

Return to the top


Where to Park

Franklin St. Lot adjacent to the Library 
Underground parking beneath the Library on Mercy St.
Mercy St. Lot between Franklin St. and Bryant St. 
NOTE: Sunday Farmers' Market will be held in Parking Lot 12 (Mercy St. and Bryant St.) on Sunday Levi's Stadium event days. Thursday Farmers' Market will be held in Parking Lot 12 from 5-8 p.m.
City of Mountain View: How Do I Find Parking? 

Return to the top


Biking to the Library

Getting Around Mountain View by Bike    
City of Mountain View Interactive Bike Map (2020)
Downtown Bike Rack Locations

Return to the top

Feedback